CCRIF Scholarship

CCRIF Scholarship 2015CCRIF Scholarship Programme

The CCRIF scholarship is offered by CCRIF SPC (formerly the Caribbean Catastrophe Risk Insurance Facility), which is a risk pooling company, owned, operated and registered in the Caribbean to serve governments in the Wider Caribbean Region and their communities in reducing the economic impact of natural catastrophes.

Through the CCRIF Scholarship Programme of the CCRIF Technical Assistance Programme, the facility provides CCRIF scholarship to students at the post-graduate level to pursue study in areas related to disaster risk management.

CCRIF scholarships provides a maximum of four scholarships annually for students pursuing a Masters or an MBA programme in a number of pre-identified areas (see eligibility criteria) which are available at universities in the United Kingdom, United States and Canada and at eligible universities in the Caribbean, other than the University of the West Indies (UWI).*

*Note that CCRIF provides scholarships for study at UWI through the CCRIF-UWI Scholarship Programme, which is administered by UWI. All applications to this programme are managed by UWI and applicants are required to apply directly to UWI.

Eligibility for the CCRIF Scholarships

Applications for the 2015 CCRIF Scholarship is hereby invited from individuals who are citizens of CARICOM member countries and/or CCRIF member countries in the Caribbean.

Eligible CCRIF scholarship programmes include one-year Masters-level courses in the following areas which are available at eligible regional universities** or at universities in the United Kingdom/ United States/Canada:

  • (Catastrophe) Risk Management
  • Property/Casualty Insurance
  • Meteorology
  • Other hazard/disaster related disciplines

CCRIF Scholarship eligible programmes also include an MBA with a Major in risk management and/or insurance or a related field at a qualified university. Online programmes available through eligible regional universities or at universities in the United Kingdom/ United States/Canada are also eligible for these CCRIF scholarships.

Please Note

CCRIF scholarship eligible regional universities are accredited universities in any CARICOM member country or CCRIF member country. The CCRIF scholarship applicants should be holders of a First Class or Upper Second Class Honours degree (or have a GPA of at least 3.0) and have some related work experience.

Value of the CCRIF Scholarship Awards

The CCRIF scholarships are valued at a maximum of US$40,000 each (for extra-regional universities) or US$20,000 (for regional universities). They are specifically for those applicants who would have gained admission to a Masters level programme or an MBA programme fitting the eligibility criteria presented above.

The CCRIF scholarships will be awarded to applicants who have demonstrated academic excellence; are involved in, or currently work in the field of risk and or disaster management or sustainable development in the Caribbean and have a record of broader community involvement.

Preference will be given to individuals seeking to attend eligible regional universities and persons with supporting nominations from publically-funded (government) national and regional agencies whose mandates are specific to risk management, disaster management, meteorology, engineering or environmental management.

In the event that the CCRIF scholarship does not cover the total cost of attendance for a specified programme of study. The candidate will be required to demonstrate the availability of support funding to cover the entirety of the programme being considered.

Download the CCRIF Scholarship Forms here!

Conditions to win the CCRIF Scholarships

  • Recipients of the CCRIF scholarships must be registered full-time (except in the case of online programmes), and must not be holders of any other scholarship award. Recipients will be bonded to work in the Caribbean for a period of three years immediately after graduation.
  • CCRIF Scholarships will not be awarded until a bonding agreement has been established and signed between the nominated scholarship recipient and the government of the respective country or other authorized institution and until all visa requirements have been met.
  • Recipients will be required to sign an agreement with CCRIF agreeing to the terms and conditions of the scholarship prior to the commencement of their programme. Students who withdraw from the programme without good reason and the approval of the Academic Director, or who fail to complete the programme, will be required to repay the award.
  • Students who fail to complete the bonding period will be required to repay the award. Students are expected to achieve academic excellence and are required to ensure that grades are at least a Merit grade.
  • A report on academic performance will be required upon completion of each semester of academic study.

Applications for the CCRIF scholarships must be submitted via the CCRIF online scholarship programme platform at: no later than May 22, 2015.   

For additional information or for clarification, please email:

%d bloggers like this: